Author's website Alexander Korotko

New book of miniatures is ready for publication

A new book of miniatures by Alexander Korotko has been prepared and scheduled for publication. Unlike previous editions, the collection consists mainly of single verses interspersed with single line poems. Thus, the author’s attitude to the genre of poetic miniatures evolves, acquiring the depth of thought, semantic accuracy and rich imagery in a new form. Horizontal single line poems and vertical monoverses add a completely different dimension to a unique poetic creation.
The author had an extremely rigorous approach to the selection of these pieces in a small genre, including in the collection of them both the best works of past years, written mostly in the past year and some even at the beginning of this year.

There has always been a scattering of miniatures in Alexander Korotko’s poetry collections, they can be seen in earlier (“The Night Well”, “The Applause of Dead Hands”, “Week days of Mind” and later editions (“Silent Songs”, “I Didn’t Live on Earth”, “There are birds of separation of love”), bilingual books translated into English and French (“On both sides of love”, “The anthill of the silence”), as well as single-line miniatures released separately (“Transcription of thought”, “The future has returned to the past”) and a book translated into French “The Red Frog” (“La grenouille rouge”).

Critics and readers, having encountered small but powerful philosophical poetic thoughts and metaphorically incredibly miniature poems, are grateful to the author not only for a literary pleasure, but also for opening their minds to the possibility of their own spiritual growth in the vastness of the universe.

We deliberately are not revealing either the title of this new book or the name of the  publishing house. This is not out of superstition, but for reasons of correctness. However, we consider it appropriate to quote a critical article written as long ago as the early noughties by art critic Sergei Papeta, which has not lost its relevance.

"Alexander Korotko is a master of concise poetic formulations, distinguished by their accuracy and almost material tangibility in conveying the finest non-material states. His poems seem as if cast in a weightless bronze of words from single forms, the uniqueness of which is due to the individuality of each separately arising poetic impulse. Solely out of an arbitrary internal poetic impulse, the line is lengthened and shortened, the rhyme is born and dies, the rhythm slows down or is accelerated.

In the poetry collection “Transcription of thoughts” Alexander Korotko brings to its logical conclusion the single-line poem form that has repeatedly appeared in his previous books of poems. The ability to crystallize poetic thought, the ornamental gems of a small poetic form generate in his work a distinctive kind of poem within a poem, where a line is both part of the text and a complete whole. The subsequent emanation of a single line into an independent work is to some extent consonant with the tendencies of minimization of form in contemporary art. This is a kind of desire to reduce the "excess weight" of a work by increasing its intangible assets. Unlike, for example, compact Japanese haiku, which in essence are a kind of sophisticated poetic plein-air (open space), Alexander Korotko’s poems create new dimensions of existing concepts by destroying verbal dogmas. Unexpected, sometimes shocking, phrases form a subjective phraseology, which throws bridges into that world that can be expressed in the only possible way. Despite the fact that formally, Alexander Korotko’s poetry is closest to the phenomena of the art of postmodernism, it never crosses the line beyond which the anarchy of words begins. In his poems one can feel a good grafting of traditional poetry, in particular, the brilliant poetry of the Silver Age with its exquisite symbolism, sophisticated associations and delicate elegance of form:

               Как плющом, наши ночи снами увиты."

The full article can be read here:
https://korotko-poetry.com/en/kritika

And on the home page - single-line poems from the the poet Alexander Korotko’s vast collection of miniatures.

more

Авторский сайт Александра Коротко

Готова к выпуску новая книга миниатюр

Подготовлена и намечена к выходу в свет новая книга миниатюр Александра Коротко. В отличие от предыдущих изданий сборник состоит в основном из моностиший, перемежающихся с однострочьями. Таким образом авторское отношение к жанру поэтической миниатюры эволюционирует, приобретая с новой формой глубину мысли, смысловую точность и богатую образность. Горизонтальные однострочья и вертикальные моностишья дают совершенно иной объём уникальному поэтическому продукту.
Автор крайне требовательно подошёл к отбору этих вещей малого жанра, включив в их собрание и лучшие произведения прошлых лет, и написанные большей частью в ушедшем году, а некоторые – даже в начале наступившего.
Миниатюры всегда были рассыпаны по стихотворным сборникам Александра Коротко, их можно увидеть в ранних изданиях ("Ночной колодец","Рукоплесканье мёртвых рук", "Будни рассудка"), более поздних ("Молчаливые песни", "Я не жил на земле", "Есть птицы расставания любви"), книгах билингва в переводах на английский и французский ("По обе стороны любви", "Тишины муравейник"), а также миниатюрах-однострочьях, выпущенных отдельно ("Транскрипция мысли", "Будущее вернулось в прошлое") и переводной книге на французском "Красная лягушка".

Критики и просто читатели, встретившись с небольшими по объёму, но мощными по философской поэтической мысли и невероятно обширными метафорически стихами-миниатюрами, благодарны автору не только за литературное удовольствие, но и за импульс к возможности собственного духовного роста на просторах мироздания.

Намеренно не сообщаем ни названия новой книги, ни издательства, её выпускающего, – не из суеверия, а из соображений корректности. Однако считаем уместным процитировать критическую статью, написанную уже в далёких нулевых искусствоведом Сергеем Папетой, которая нисколько не потеряла своей актуальности.

"Александр Коротко – мастер лаконичных поэтических формулировок, отличающихся точностью и почти вещественной осязаемостью в передаче тончайших невещественных состояний. Его стихи словно отлиты в невесомой бронзе слов с единичных форм, неповторимость которых обусловлена единичностью каждого отдельно возникающего поэтического импульса. Согласно лишь внутреннему поэтическому произволу строка удлиняется и укорачивается, рождается и умирает рифма, замедляется или получает ускорение ритм.

В альбоме стихов «Транскрипция мысли» Александр Коротко доводит до логического завершения форму однострочного стихотворения, которая неоднократно возникала в его предыдущих сборниках. Способность к кристаллизации поэтической мысли, ювелирной отделке малой стихотворной формы породила в его творчестве своеобразный вид стихотворения в стихотворении, где отдельная строка одновременно часть текста и законченное целое. Последующая эманация отдельной строки в самостоятельное произведение в определенной мере созвучна тенденциям минимализации формы в современном искусстве. Это своего рода стремление к уменьшению «избыточного веса» произведения за счет увеличения его нематериальных активов. В отличие, к примеру, от компактных японских хайку, в сущности представляющих собой род утонченного поэтического пленэра, стихи Александра Коротко создают новые измерения существующих понятий путем разрушения вербальных догм. Неожиданные, иногда эпатажные, словосочетания формируют субъективную фразеологию, которая перебрасывает мостки в тот мир, который может быть выражен единственно возможным образом. При всем том, что формально поэзия Александра Коротко ближе всего к явлениям искусства постмодернизма, она никогда не пересекает рубеж, за которым начинается анархия слов. В его стихах ощущается хорошая прививка традиционной поэзии, в частности, блестящей поэзии Серебряного века с ее изысканной символичностью, утонченной ассоциативностью, отточенной элегантностью формы:

               Как плющом, наши ночи снами увиты."

Полностью статью можно прочитать здесь:
http://korotko-poetry.com/kritika

А на главной странице – однострочья из обширного фонда миниатюр поэта Александра Коротко.

ещё