Tete-a-tete with silence

Pavlo Zagrebelni, known Ukrainian writer A foreword to a collection of poems in Ukrainian translation The Bleached Dreams, 2000

Poetry is a dangerous thing. Like a plastic bomb. Remember Pasternak? ‘The lines have blood in them. They kill. They rush all of a sudden up your throat and choke you to death’. A good many poets have suffered a defeat, or worse still a total fiasco, when they dared to make a start with a whole book of poetry instead of a few poems. The French say, ‘The words begin to fade once they are printed’. Perhaps Ivan Franko knew it because he gave his best collection of poetry the title of Faded Leaves. 
The original, or I would rather say, unique character of Alexander Korotko’s poetry lies in its barely perceptible tangibility. It is like unwoven silk. Unwritten lines. Unspoken words. Words in shape of thoughts. The poet thinks and his thoughts come to you as hints, as revelation, as magic. These poems are not for reciting, they are for feasting your eyes on; then they penetrate you as pre-eternal essence, as a hope and promise, since the creation of the world is yet to come. Hence the longing for everything that has never come to be, has never come to pass, has never come to be spoken. (Particularly in the poem I’m an Enigma). Rather than help you to live through the humdrum and vanity of everyday life, these poems help you to live inside that engulfing solitude where we remain human in the supreme meaning of this word. Instead of roaring missiles, soldiers marching on military parades, officious politicians delivering long boring speeches we have the divine quietude of iconostases, synagogues and human solitude. Quietude permeates these poems as if it were a divine nectar.
“The words will blossom into your silence in my mind”. The so-called modernists think that once you remove all punctuation marks from your texts you become a modernist. In fact, instead of removing the full stops and commas, you have to remove obstacles between the poet and the reader, betwen the visual objects and the invisible essence, between the primitive tangibility of the written, the painted, the conventionally defined and the subtlest emanations of the meaning, or in Alexander Korotko’s words, “the religion of the word is born”.
Exactly so: the religion of the word. Today we need such kind of poetry that will live on even when all the libraries burn down, the poetry that could be preserved in the safest of all depositories, which is called the human memory, the human heart.
Hear the poet speak for himself in one of his most important, in my opinion, poems Symphony:

 

 

How many of us are there, living uselessly, reading in faces 
by memory the incantations of ages,
and hearing the alarming anger of the wind
subordinate only to the gloomy forests,
soaring over the abyss on wings of clouds, apathetic as life?
Someone’s name is just a lullaby of the crazy fatherland, 
that bitter balsam, a deadly postscript, treating 
the soul from thirst of events, an udimmed dream dispersed
in the corners with icons of memories, where the angels carry out
their earthy service on the church-porches of eternity, where the word
is invaluable, where each bow is reached to by an echo in hearts that sing.

 

 

P.Zagrebelni
31 October 2000

P. S. 
Boris Pasternak. When mind police in Krushchev’s employ persecuted B. Pasternak for his novel Doctor Zhivago, he wrote in one of his letters: “Art is not valour, but shame and sin, almost excusable in their wonderful harmlessness; and so art can be restored in its dignity and justified  by the magnitude of that which is sometimes acquired by this shame”. The magnitude of this very kind have I seen in Alexander Korotko’s poetry. 

more

Наедине с тишиной

Павло Загребельный, украинский писатель, Киев, 2000 год, вступительная статья к книге «Знебарвленi сни» (стихи в переводах на украинский язык
Павло Загребельный


Поэзия – небезопасная вещь. Как пластиковая бомба. Вспомним Пастернака: «А строчки с кровью. Убивают. Нахлынут горлом и убьют». Сколько поэтов потерпели даже не поражение, а полный крах, осмелившись выступить не с одним и не с несколькими стихотворениями, а сразу с целой книжкой. Французы говорят: «Слова вянут после того, как они напечатаны». Наверное, Иван Франко знал эту истину, назвав свою лучшую книгу стихотворений-песен «Увядшая листва» («Зiв’яле листя»).

Оригинальность, я бы сказал, уникальность поэзии Александра Коротко – в ее едва заметной материальности. Это как нетканый шелк. Неписаные строки. Несказанные слова. Слова только в мыслях. Вот поэт подумал, и это передалось вам как намек, как откровение, как магия. Стихи не для чтения вслух, а для вбирания взглядом – и тогда они проникают в тебя, как предвечная суть, как обещание и надежда, ибо сотворение мира только грядет. Отсюда великая тоска по по всему, чего еще не было, чего не произошло, о чем не говорилось. (Особенно в стихотворении «Я – тайна»). Эти стихи помогают жить не в мелочности и суете каждодневности, а в том громадном одиночестве, где мы остаемся людьми в наивысшем значении этого слова. Не издевательский рев ракет, не грохот солдатских сапог на государственных парадах, не занудное зудение политических лидеров с казенных трибун, а благословенная тишина иконостасов, синагог и человеческого одиночества. Тишина разлита в этих стихах, как божественный напиток.

«И прорастут слова в сознании моем молчанием твоим».

Так называемые модернисты считают, что стоит убрать из текста все знаки препинания – и ты уже модернист. На самом деле нужно убирать не точки и запятые, а препятствия между поэтом и читателем, между визуальным рядом и незримым проникновением в суть, между примитивной материей написанного, изображенного, традиционно обозначенного и самыми утонченными эманациями смысла, того, о чем Александр Коротко сказал необычайно точно – «Возникает религия слова».

Действительно так: религия слова. Сегодня нужна такая поэзия, которая уцелела бы даже тогда, когда сгорят все библиотеки мира, сохранилась в том наинадежнейшем хранилище, что зовется людской памятью, людским сердцем.

Пусть скажет об этом сам поэт в одном из своих, на мой взгляд, программных стихотворений «Симфония»:

Сколько нас, бесполезно живущих, читающих в лицах на память заклинанья веков,
и слышащих ветра тревожную ярость, подвластную только угрюмым лесам,
парящих над бездной на крыльях таких безучастных, как жизнь, облаков.
Чье имя всего лишь напев колыбельной отчизны безумной, тот горький бальзам, посмертный
постскриптум, врачующий душу от жажды событий, немеркнущий сон, разбросанный по углам
иконами воспоминаний, где ангелы службу земную
несут на паперти вечности, где слово бесценно, где каждый поклон
отзывается эхом в поющих сердцах.

 

П. Загребельный

 

31 октября 2000 г.

P.S.
Борис Пастернак. Когда хрущевские идеологические янычары третировали его за роман «Доктор Живаго», в одном из своих писем писал: «Искусство не доблесть, но позор и грех, почти простительные в своей прекрасной безобидности, и оно может быть восстановлено в своем достоинстве и оправдано только громадностью того, что бывает иногда куплено этим позором». Именно такую «громадность» я увидел в стихах Александра Коротко.

ещё Критика