Author's website Alexander Korotko

Award ceremony for winners of the Maximilian Voloshin Prize

Yesterday, June 20, at the capital's House of Writers of Ukraine, the award ceremony was held for the winners of the annual literary prize named after Maximilian Kiriyenko-Voloshin. As we have already reported, Alexander Korotko was awarded the prize in the prose category for the work “The Moon Boy”, published by the “Summit Book” publishing house.


“The Moon Boy” was written at the very beginning of this century, but it has not lost its relevance and, especially, its literary merits. It is a remarkable work. In his preface written at the same time, Andrei Bitov admits that it is difficult to attribute this work to any genre: “At first I decided to call the work that I’d read a short story, then the suspicion crept into my mind that it was a novel. Or neither of the above. Novel and short story at the same time? The genre seems to me a kind of transformer, acquiring the necessary shape as the plot moves forward, the conflict develops from the inside. This is exactly what happens in life. But the artistic reality in “The Moon Boy” is much superior to the material reality”


Interestingly, in a recent conversation between Alexander Korotko and the famous writer Maxim Kant, which took place on the fringe of the Paris Book Fair, the categorization “novel” was proposed. Maxim Kant is not the only person to think so - for Europeans, a work with such philosophical depth is really worthy of a "great" literary term. But does it really matter to the hero of the work which genre Moon Boy falls into? There are enough riddles in the text itself, and, for example, one intriguing question: why is the subtitle on the cover “male prose from a female face”?


Among the guests at the award ceremony it was rumoured  that the decision to award the prize to Alexander Korotko was made as a result of heated debate. However, it is clear that the professional jury for the Voloshin Prize appreciated not only the writer's intention, but also its unconditional artistic merits. Another quote from Bitov's introduction: “Surely, prose belongs to the poet. “Я открыла глаза. Огромное бесполое существо по имени Утро ходило за мной по пятам и ныло”, – these lines, and the name itself, is proof of this. Only a poet with his precise, targeted vision is able to handle the lonely souls of the protagonists in this dramatic story. ”

more

Авторский сайт Александра Коротко

Награждение лауреатов премии имени Максимилиана Волошина

Вчера, 20 июня в столичном Доме писателей Украины, прошла церемония награждения лауреатов ежегодной литературной премии имени Максимилиана Кириенко-Волошина. Как мы уже сообщали, Александр Коротко удостоен награды в номинации прозы за произведение «Лунный мальчик», вышедшее в издательстве «Саммит-книга».


«Лунный мальчик» написан в самом начале нового века, однако не потерял своей актуальности и тем более литературных достоинств. Интересно, что в своём предисловии, написанном тогда же, Андрей Битов признаётся, что затрудняется отнести эту вещь к какому-либо жанру: «Сначала я решил назвать прочитанное повестью, потом закралось подозрение, что это роман. Не то и не другое. Роман и повесть одновременно? Жанр представляется мне неким трансформером, приобретающим необходимые очертания по мере движения сюжета, развития конфликта – изнутри. Именно так происходит в жизни. Но художественная реальность в «Лунном мальчике» гораздо выше реальности материальной.»
Интересно, что в недавней беседе Александра Коротко с известным литератором Максимом Кантом, состоявшейся на полях Парижской книжной ярмарки, было предложено определение «роман». И так считает не только Максим Кант – для европейцев произведение с такой философской глубиной действительно достойно «большого» литературоведческого термина. Но так ли важно, герой произведения какого жанра Лунный мальчик? В самом тексте достаточно загадок. Или, например, интригующий вопрос: почему подзаголовок на обложке - «мужская проза от женского лица»?


В кулуарах церемонии награждения прозвучала информация, что решение о присуждении премии Александру Коротко было принято в результате жарких споров. Однако очевиден факт, что профессиональное жюри Волошинской премии оценило не только замысел писателя, но и безусловные художественные достоинства. Ещё одна цитата из предисловия Битова: «Несоменно, проза принадлежит перу поэта. “Я открыла глаза. Огромное бесполое существо по имени Утро ходило за мной по пятам и ныло”, – эти строки, да и само название, тому подтверждение. Только поэт с его точечным, прицельным видением в состоянии разобраться с одинокими душами участников этой драматической истории».

ещё