Outside the genre

Recently, a new book by the Kiev writer Alexander Korotko appeared in the bookstores of Ukraine. It is called "Moon Boy". The preface is entitled not so poetic, but precisely as a matter of fact - "Sleepwalking as a way of preserving oneself". It was written by the world-famous master of modern prose Andrey Bitov. With separate fragments of this preface we introduce our readers. And also because the book by Alexander Korotko is unusual. It is beyond the genre. So the defined the genre author of the "Lunar Boy" by himself.

"The writer always writes about the past, even if it is the past of the last second, but the" Lunar boy "stands face-to-face with time. It is incredibly difficult, almost impossible, to capture the momentary nature of what is happening on a sheet of paper. Alexander Korotko in "The Lunar Boy" generally neglects many conventions regarding literary devices and rules ...

The artistic reality in the "Lunar Boy" is much higher than the material reality. Transformer allows the author and his literary fiction, the lunar boy, who hangs over the abyss of sleep and waits for a saving awakening, to move from beginning to end, without touching the living, sleepless. Undoubtedly, the prose belongs to the poet's pen ...

By the way, man's prose from a woman's face is a very rare phenomenon in modern literature and, I must say, curious for the reader. I must say that prose is short and good in words, and in whole phrases, the long breath has not yet completely penetrated, it only lives in the plot, in offscreen meaning, and yet the thing turned out, sleepwalking passed along the edge of the roof and did not fall into the yard. The sexless people in the end gained their outlines and began to speak the language of real heroes, the prefix "sur" disappeared, and reality spilled out - it wanted an experiment on a man.

But it was precisely "sur" that saved, because if the reality is taken seriously, the lunar boy invariably dies in the days of the lunar attraction. He is dissolved in the text, he wanders with his eyes closed, he is a sleepwalker, balancing on the brink of ordered materials, then contract murders, custom-made gifts in the form of deputy editor posts or without ten hundred percent of shares.

The madness of time is transmitted transiently in Korotko's works, and the mind and consciousness come only through effort on oneself - one must break the dream in order to really wake up. Wake up and stand in front of the Procurator - in front of the editor-in-chief, who personifies destructive and at the same time creative power. And yet it's scary, when it all depends on you. They rule you, give someone else's name, bring and take away money, place and position, and only the sleep of the moon saves so much that even the death of a loved one does not shock. And what kind of humanity are we? Madness of the brave we sing a song and die from the fact that we were changed a surname or in the text only one paragraph was removed. In fact, businessmen from the "Lunar Boy", people in the transition period, want to sleep, love, intrigue, and finally just die, because they all emerged from the sleepy realm of socialism, where they were comfortable, but here it is necessary as a result of long torment, business meetings and "shooters" to sell their business, because the bone is not the same, fragile, with the chrome of stagnation, with the creak of Gogol's floorboards of old-world landlords, Stolz and Oblomov on the same couch. Money is present in the story as a kind of self-sufficient force, they are the air of those who are successful in business, imposing, intelligent, you do not notice them when they are. But those who do not have them in the subconscious only bear their silence and unpretentiousness. And here they are offered to you. And as if it should be so, because dignity brings money for long-suffering and for what you do from your talent, and not through the efforts of commerce and overwork. The intelligentsia is incapable, and should not play by the rules of those who use it, who wants to privatize her thoughts, feelings, talent, finally - in that case she always loses, her home phones are changed without her knowledge, her job is taken, declare her Bankrupt. As soon as she returns to her social niche and is engaged in her own business, everything immediately becomes in place. Dignity and pride are what we are alive at all times. An intellectual who is successful in dirty commerce is suspicious. In fact, either he is not an intellectual at all, or the businessman of a bad assault has dealt with him in the first fight of conscience with deceit - himself and others. In "The Lunar Boy", this is perhaps the main thing that in a real work is always on top or inside the context. He is afraid for "human instincts", which at a certain moment can become more terrible than the animal ones. "We won. We were defeated "- this is the result, the payment for ambitious dreams of a career, so not peculiar to a conscientious individual ...

Lately there has been much debate and talk about the loss of literature, about the failure of the modern novel. The works are called commercial, then buker, then written specifically for the format of a thick magazine ... All this idle talk. Literature lives by other rules. Freedom and the boundless habitat of a creative person are an indisputable thing. The prose of Alexander Korotko, which is outside the genre, is interesting in this. It refutes all talk about the loss of literature as a civilization, as a culture. "
more

Вне жанра

Недавно в книжных магазинах Украины появилась новая книга киевского писателя Александра Коротко. Называется она «Лунный мальчик». Предисловие озаглавлено не очень поэтично, но зато точно по сути – «Лунатизм как способ сохранения самого себя». Написал его всемирно известный мастер современной прозы Андрей Битов. С отдельными фрагментами этого предисловия мы знакомим наших читателей. И еще потому, что книга Александра Коротко необычная. Она – вне жанра. Так определил жанр «Лунного мальчика» сам автор.

"Писатель всегда пишет о прошлом, даже если это прошлое прошедшей секунды. Тем не менее «Лунный мальчик» стоит лицом к лицу со временем. Запечатлеть сиюминутность происходящего на листе бумаги невероятно трудно, почти невозможно. Ставил ли перед собой такую задачу автор? Скорее всего нет. Александр Коротко в «Лунном мальчике» вообще пренебрегает многими условностями касательно литературных приемов и правил...

Художественная реальность в «Лунном мальчике» гораздо выше реальности материальной. Трансформер позволяет автору и его литературному вымыслу, лунному мальчику, который висит над пропастью сна и ждет спасительного пробуждения, двигаться от начала до конца, не задевая живых, неспящих. Несомненно, проза принадлежит перу поэта...

Кстати, мужская проза от женского лица – весьма редкое в современной литературе явление и, надо сказать, любопытное для читателя. Надо сказать, что проза Коротко хороша и в словах, и в целых фразах, длинное дыхание еще не совсем пробилось, оно только живет в сюжете, в закадровости смысла, и все же вещь получилась, лунатизм прошел по краю крыши и не свалился во двор. Бесполые люди в конце обрели свои очертания и заговорили языком настоящих героев, приставка «сюр» отпала, и действительность проговорилась – она хотела эксперимента над человеком.

Но спас именно «сюр», поскольку если действительность воспринимать всерьез, то лунный мальчик неизменно погибает в дни лунного притяжения. Он растворен в тексте, бродит с закрытыми глазами, он лунатик-время, балансирующий на грани то заказных материалов, то заказных убийств, то заказных подарков в виде постов заместителя редактора или без десяти ста процентов акций.

Безумие времени передается у Коротко трансцедентально, а ум и сознание приходят только через усилие над самим собой – нужно разорвать сон, чтобы по-настоящему проснуться. Проснуться и встать перед лицом прокуратора – перед главным редактором, который олицетворяет разрушительную и одновременно креативную силу. И все-таки страшно, когда все зависит не от тебя. Тебя правят, дают чужую фамилию, приносят и отбирают деньги, место и положение, и только лунный сон спасает настолько, что даже смерть близкого человека не потрясает. И что же мы за человечество такое? Безумству храбрых поем мы песню и погибаем от того, что нам изменили фамилию или в тексте убрали всего-то один абзац. На самом деле бизнесмены из «Лунного мальчика», люди переходного периода, хотят спать, любить, интриговать, наконец, просто умирать, потому что все они вышли из сонного царства социализма, где им было удобно, а здесь надо в итоге долгих мук, разборок, терок, деловых встреч и «стрелок» продавать свой бизнес, потому что кость не та, хрупка, с хромом застоя, со скрипом гоголевских половиц старосветских помещиков, Штольц и Обломов на одном диване. Деньги присутствуют в повести как некая самодовлеющая сила, они воздух тех, кто успешен в делах, вальяжен, интеллектуален, их не замечаешь, когда они есть. Но те, у кого их нет, в подсознании только и носят их тишину и непритязательность. И вот тебе их предлагают. И как будто так должно и быть, потому что достоинство приносит деньги за долготерпение и за то, что ты делаешь от своего таланта, а не через усилия коммерции и непосильного труда. Интеллигенция не способна, да и не должна играть по правилам тех, кто использует ее, кто хочет приватизировать ее мысли, чувства, талант, наконец, – в таком случае она всегда проигрывает, ибо ей меняют без ведома домашние телефоны, оставляют без работы, объявляют банкротом. Как только она возвращается в свою социальную нишу и занимается своим делом, все тут же становится на место. Достоинство и гордость – это то, чем мы живы во все времена. Успешный в грязной коммерции интеллигент подозрителен. На самом деле либо он и не интеллигент вовсе, или же коммерсант дурного пошиба расправился с ним в первой же схватке совести с обманом – самого себя и окружающих. В «Лунном мальчике» это, пожалуй, то главное, что в настоящем произведении всегда поверх или внутри контекста. Коротко боится за «человеческие инстинкты», которые в определенный момент могут стать страшнее звериных. «Мы победили. Нас победили» – таков итог, плата за амбициозные мечты о карьере, так не свойственные совестливому индивидууму...

В последнее время много спорят и говорят о гибели литературы, о провале современного романа. Произведения называют то коммерческими, то букеровскими, то написанными специально для формата толстого журнала... Все это досужие разговоры. Литература живет по другим правилам. Свобода и безграничное пространство обитания творческой личности – неоспоримая вещь. Проза Александра Коротко, находящаяся вне жанра, этим и интересна. Она опровергает все разговоры о гибели литературы как цивилизации, как культуры".
ещё