Preface

Hillary Shears, translator and poet. December 2019, London

Very occasionally a unique new voice in poetry rises above the clamouring crowd to command attention. Informed by a very different culture, language and environment from his Anglophone audience, Korotko’s short, sharp observations of life around him are far from the easiest to translate into English but his rich imagery, distinctive take on life and sometimes sardonic approach make the effort well worth while.

Like almost 30% of Ukrainians, Korotko’s mother tongue is Russian, which, in poetry, is quite distinct from Ukrainian, for its rhythms have a different music. The reader can picture him, notebook in hand, recording his thoughts on the world around him in all sorts of contexts and wherever he goes.

In recent years Ukraine has experienced political and social upheaval as it struggles to establish its independence from Russia whilst celebrating and revelling in the freedom of being able to promote its own culture and history.
It is too, a proudly European country, conscious of our common heritage of writers and artists, many of whom have inspired Korotko’s poems.

Against this background Korotko’s poetry has a personal slant, providing an intimate record of recent times and life in today’s Ukraine while painting a general picture of the country. That picture is sometimes so vivid it is almost like a memory in the reader’s own mind, as in Fatherland, the first poem in the collection, with lines such as ,“a broth of dirty glistening smog,/a sorry cloud of rust”, while references to the conflict in Eastern Ukraine are often understated allusions rather than overt commentary. An exception to this is the moving poem, War.

There is a large number of powerful short poems about loss, life, death and dreams most of which deploy recurrent imagery of sun, moon, skies, clouds, the seasons, wind, snow and other images from the natural world. In some you can hear the cynicism, “Guard duty’s what you get for sin”, or VAULT “A garrison, /a cardboard /matchbook / matches sleeping/without a name/ like bar codes.” He is often humorous, as he says self-deprecatingly, “I am the main producer of half asleep clothes”

His observations are sharp, and perceptive, covering a multitude of subjects, from a reflection about the face of an old person (Face) to the changing light of sunsets and the seasons (The sea licks/a lollipop sunset) and longer, deeper thoughts on what life is, (At night, in secret,/imperious memory/clambers/on to the Ferris wheel/ of memories….).
In many poems the sea is a metaphor for life, especially dreams: “in the sheepskin of dreams, in winter’s wail,/dressed in white caps on background blue/storm-tossed sea of furrows”.

No matter what the subject or imagery, his very short poems can be a real treat, for example, “Naïve penguins” or the wonderful opening line “Deadly/beautiful night/
In lacquered shoes”. I love so many of his opening lines because they really make you read the whole poem closely and think about the underlying message. I shall leave it to the reader to explore the book and come across them.
I can promise you a real voyage of discovery. Enjoy!

more

Предисловие

Хиллори Ширз, переводчик, поэт. Декабрь 2019, Лондон

Крайне редко уникальный новый голос в поэзии возвышается над требовательной толпой, чтобы привлечь к себе внимание. Короткие, острые наблюдения Коротко за окружающей его жизнью совершенно нелегко перевести на английский язык, учитывая культурные, языковые отличия, а также иную окружающую среду его англоязычной аудитории, однако его богатые образы, своеобразный взгляд на жизнь и, порою, сардонический подход оправдывают усилия.

Как и для тридцати процентов украинцев родной язык Коротко — русский, который в поэзии достаточно сильно отличается от украинского — его ритмам свойственна иная мелодика. Читатель может представить его: с блокнотом в руках, записывающего свои мысли об окружающем мире в различных ситуациях, везде, куда бы он ни шел.

В последние годы Украина испытывает политические и социальные потрясения, пытаясь установить свою независимость от России, одновременно празднуя и наслаждаясь свободой возможности поддерживать свою собственную культуру и историю.
Также это гордая европейская страна, осознающая наше общее наследие писателей и художников, многие из которых послужили вдохновением для поэзии Коротко.

На этом фоне поэзия Коротко имеет свой собственный взгляд, предоставляя личные записи о недавних временах и жизни в сегодняшней Украине на фоне общей картины страны. Иногда эта картина настолько яркая, словно воспоминания в сознании самого читателя, как в «Отечестве», первом стихотворении в сборнике, с такими строками, как «варево сияющего смога / близорукая печаль», однако ссылки на конфликт на востоке Украины больше напоминают не высказанные открыто намеки, чем откровенные комментарии. Исключением является «движущееся» стихотворение «Война».

Существует большое число мощных коротких стихотворений о потерях, жизни, смерти и снах, в большинстве из которых используются повторяющиеся образы солнца, луны, неба, облаков, времен года, ветра, снега и других образов из мира природы. Некоторые из них циничны: «Guard duty’s what you get for sin» или VAULT «Коробок / гарнизонный, / картонный, / спички / спят / штрихкодами дня…». Он часто использует юмор, когда заявляет самоуничижительно: «Я — главный / режиссер / нарядов полусонных…»

Его наблюдения резкие и проницательные, охватывающие множество предметов, от размышлений о лице старого человека (Лицо) до смены света закатов и времен года (море лижет / заката леденец) и более пространные, глубокие мысли о том, что такое жизнь, ( Властная память / ночью тайком взбирается / на чёртово колесо / воспоминаний....).
Во многих стихотворениях море — это метафора жизни, особенно снов: «в овчине снов, в опале зимней, / взъерошена морская гладь / на синем фоне белой мастью…».

Неважно, какой используется сюжет или образ, его очень короткие стихотворения могут стать настоящим лакомством, например, «Наивные пингвины» или чудесная вступительная строка «Убийственно / красивая ночь / в лакированных туфлях… ». Я люблю многие из его вступительных строк, потому что они действительно заставляют вас внимательно прочесть все стихотворение и подумать о сути послания. Я предоставлю читателю возможность изучить книгу и познакомиться с ними.

Я могу пообещать вам настоящее, полное открытий путешествие. Наслаждайтесь!


Перевод с английского Оксаны Липковской

ещё